Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close

The Rwenzori Mountains lie just north of the Equator along the border between the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Uganda. The north-south extension amounts to about 120km and the east-west extension runs to about 50km. The range has 6 major peaks, Mt. Stanley (5,109m), Mt. Speke (4,890m), Mt. Baker (4,843m), Mt. Emin (4,798m) Mt. Gessi (4,715m) and Mt. Luigi di Savioa (4,627m).

The highest peak in the Mt. Stanley complex (Margherita 5,109m) makes the Rwenzori mountains the 3rd highest range in Africa.

But unlike the two highest mountains in Africa (Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Kenya), the Rwenzori Mountains are not volcanic but predominantly old quartzite and gneiss pushed up by tremendous forces originating deep within the earth’s crust in the region of 3-4 billion years ago.